RSS

Fotoless Friday – Are you serious?

11 Mar

Ever hear those stories on the radio that really make you scratch your head and go ‘huh?’  Well, I had one of those this morning on my way to work.  The question was, what year did the cassette player become obsolete in cars?

You’ll never believe the answer.

I didn’t at first, but I thought it happened quite  a while ago. Like a decade ago LOL I remember my dad’s new Taurus was a 1999, and it was 2000 when the CD player became standard.

And apparently Lexus will still offer the cassette player as an option until the stock runs out.

Now back to the year.  Have you taken a guess yet?

2011.

Yup, this year.  Isn’t that crazy?  I can’t even remember the last time I chose to listen to a tape.  The tape decks in all my CD players are dusty from years of neglect.  And yet some people still want them in their cars.

Made me scratch my head and go ‘huh?’

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in Fotoless Friday

 

6 responses to “Fotoless Friday – Are you serious?

  1. Jenelle

    March 11, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I heard that too!! you’d think a luxury line like Lexus (that was a sweet alliteration eh?) would be more with the times and one of the first to get rid of the cassettes.

     
    • Danica

      March 11, 2011 at 10:25 pm

      I honestly thought they went out ages ago. I mean, I get collecting vinyl, but who chooses cassettes over CDs?

       
  2. Natasha

    March 14, 2011 at 6:12 am

    I wish my car had a cassette player! I LOVE MY TAPES!!!!

     
    • Danica

      March 14, 2011 at 8:24 am

      Really? Then I guess you’ll be buying a Lexus!
      Sent wirelessly from my BlackBerry device on the Bell network.
      Envoyé sans fil par mon terminal mobile BlackBerry sur le réseau de Bell.

       
  3. Elizabeth

    March 14, 2011 at 11:50 am

    My van’s an 05 and has a tape deck. I use it to play my iPod…I have one of those tapes that connects, kwim?

     
  4. Beth

    March 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    I have a tape deck in my little car! I use it to run my iPod through too! Heck, the Jeep is so old it doesn’t even have a tape deck… or a radio!

     

Leave a Reply

 
