RSS

Pyro, by nature

12 Jul

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved fire. I love the warmth it gives on a cool night, but mostly I love watching the flames dance. It was inevitable, really. The pyro gene is strong on my dad’s side, and I definitely inherited that trait! So it shouldn’t be surprising that the last time I went camping, I was inspired to take out my camera and try to capture the life and beauty of the flames.

I’ve tried taking pictures of fire before, but they never quite satisfied. They were too light, too dark – I couldn’t quite capture what I wanted.

I tried again the other weekend, this time very deliberately. I took a few pictures, looked at the results and adjusted. I even had a tripod! …except I couldn’t use it properly. I’d brilliantly forgotten the bit that attaches to the camera that attaches the camera to the tripod. D’oh! I was still able to use the tripod as a support, just not completely.

I started off with a slower shutter speed, 1 second.
Photobucket
1.0 sect at f/14, ISO 200 – Sony a55 50 mm macro w/tripod*

The slow shutter speed blurred things a tad too much for my taste, so I sped it up. But, to compensate for the slower shutter speed, I had to decrease the f-stop (increase the aperture size) and bump up the ISO.
Photobucket
1/40 sec at f/4.0, ISO 800 – Sony a55 50 mm macro w/tripod*

Photobucket
1/40 sec at f/4.0, ISO 800 – Sony a55 50 mm macro w/tripod*

Focusing on a different part of the fire, I slowed the shutter speed down again. This time, I was quite pleased with the results!
Photobucket
1/13 sec at f/9.0, ISO 800 – Sony a55 50 mm macro w/tripod*

One last picture, faster shutter speed. I think this one is my favourite 🙂
Photobucket
1/60 sec at f/6.3, ISO 800 – Sony a55 50 mm macro w/tripod *

*camera wasn’t attached to tripod, I forgot the thingy (see post text)

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Pyro, by nature

  1. dian

    July 13, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    Very pretty 🙂 nice pics!

     
    • Danica

      July 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Thanks! 🙂

       
  2. Crystal

    July 14, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Fire 🙂

     
    • Danica

      July 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      😉

       
  3. Christine

    July 14, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    very pretty. Could just stare and stare at them all for a very long time…

     
    • Danica

      July 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Then mission accomplished 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
